Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

The real scoop.

The Situation

The truth comes out: when I spoke so confidently about pushing forward with Skirmish regardless of my lack of internet, I was fairly confident that I would manage to locate an alternate ISP within a week or so. After some research, it turns out that Rogers is the only ISP in my town. Crud. This means that I really am stuck without the internet for the next 25 days. What is one to do?

Skirmish Online is moving to the backburner. It’s just impractical for me to try and push an online game forward when I don’t even have the internet, simply due to the nature of the game. Me and Draffurd (Dean; my artistic comrade) have pondered on a nice fun project to embark on in the meantime. It will likely share some glaring similarities to Skirmish, despite it being an offline game, simply due to the overhead-shooter mindset I’m still stuck in. Knowing my somewhat sketchy track record as of late, I’ll be a little careful before talking about it in detail. I’m more than a little peeved at continuously building up hype on a project and then moving over to something else.

Exploring Linux 

On another interesting note, I’ve finally begun to explore Linux territory. With my extra harddrive simply collected dust (and bittorrents), it was high-time to pop on Ubuntu and begin a learning experience. I’ve always been interested by Linux, although somewhat driven back because of the “ego hardcore Linux elitists” stereotype-folks that seem to follow it around. I can’t speak for all of the many distros, but the Ubuntu community seems very close-knit and newbie-friendly. The OS itself is remarkably user friendly, and so far has proved to be a wonderful introduction to Linux. Since my CS courses this Fall use *nix exclusively, this will serve as a great opportunity to get my feet sufficiently wet in the *nix world.

Settling Down & Starting Up

The insane summer curriculum writing at work is finally settling down; today is the final day that the 100 writers are in our building — thank goodness. Next week only the lead writers are in, which is no big deal. What this means is less agonizing overtime, and more time to cram gamedev into my spare time. It’s also (more or less) at the point where I only have one more month to go in my co-op term over here. I’m working until the very end of August, so it’ll be more than a little tight getting all of my stuff moved in back at Waterloo for the start of the term on September 10th.

Speaking of next term, this Fall is going to be fantastic. I’m moving in with two friends from last-year’s residence, and we’re all pretty much pure-bred computer folk; our place isn’t too far from campus, either. I have a whopping three CS classes this term (although I suspect I’ll have even more in later years), where I’ll be learning mainly about low-level programming (assembly, machine code, OS low-level management stuff), logic (logic gates, symbolic logic, and all of that jazz), and programming languages themselves — we even get to write our own compiler+language! Tossed in with that is an introductory physics course centred around dynamics, which will be a huge help for the rigid body dynamics for Skirmish (and maybe this new project..). I’m also taking German again, which is cool in the sense that I don’t need a justifying sentence to back it up. 😛

More updates (and hopefully soon screenshots) to come, with greater frequency. Things are revving up around here!

4 responses to “The real scoop.

  1. ravuya July 27, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Screw Linux, buy a Mac!

    Should be neat to see what you guys pull out for this next project. Hopefully you can at least re-use the code you have so far.

  2. Paul July 27, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Sorry to hear about your continued internet woes. 25 days will soon pass.

    Paul (EasilyConfused)

  3. The Visible Man July 27, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Well, that sucks about the internet, but it sounds like you’ve got a great year coming up!

  4. Stephen July 27, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’m sure this side project will help the time pass quickly. Hopefully it won’t turn into Membrane Massacre via the “it’ll just be a 2-week project” route. 🙂

Leave a Reply

