Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Feel the cyberpunk — *BE* the cyberpunk.

I was out today with Dean, who is also a mad fanatic of the cyberpunk genre. Since I’m not quite as, erm, enlightened as him, he saw it fit to bestow a few items upon me:

  1. His copy of Neuromancer, one of the books that truly began the genre. It’s a little shy of 300 pages, so it’ll be a quick read over the next few days, and should offer a huge boost to my understanding of the genre. Not to mention ideas for game features/atmosphere.
  2. A recommendation to get myself a copy of Shadowrun, both the SNES and Genesis (ROM) versions, of which he is also a raving follower of. I played the SNES version a bit at his abode, and it’s certainly neat stuff. Shadowrun has elements like magic/dwarves/elves, which I’m adverse to in cyberpunk, but it doesn’t detract too much from the coolness of hacking security systems and hiring guns. Irregardless, it will mean another source of inspiration to draw additional material from.

Regarding the game itself, I finally have physics collisions just about done. I had made a lot of silly mistakes in the vertex->edge collision detection regarding the intersection of line-segments and the resulting normals, but it’s working now.

One particular item of note was forgetting to clear the map data whenever a map was loaded into the editor, Polyspawn, which resulted in me loading in a half-finished copy of the map overtop of itself. The result was that a collision with a wall was processed twice, which made some walls (those which I had built earliest) to repel the test object with twice as much force. Naturally until I hunted it down there was the thought, “Why on earth do some walls make me fly back when I run into them!?”. The other error, with the line-segment intersection testing, was mistyping slope as “m = (O.y – P.y) / (O.x – P.y)” — whoops. No wonder all of the intersections I was getting seemed completely randomly off. Both simple mistakes, but hunting them down was painful over the course of three days or so. Arr.

Now that the major ‘oopsies’ are cleared up, the object physics will soon be finished, which will allow the work on the player to start. Which will be far cooler than that bland sentence was. 🙂


Yes yes, better textures on the way!

4 responses to “Feel the cyberpunk — *BE* the cyberpunk.

  1. The Visible Man August 4, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Heh, I make mistakes like that all time. Unfortunately, I tend to break another part of the system while looking for the actual cause (“when in doubt, randomly change things!”)

    Glad to hear the game’s coming along so well! I’ll definitely be watching your blog to follow its progress 🙂

  2. Prinz Eugn August 4, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    You should also watch Blade Runner, pretty much the coolest movie ever, ever.

  3. ravuya August 4, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Cyberpunk 2020 and RIFTS Cyberpunk are also two excellent pen and paper games in the same sort of mirrorshades genre.

    IMNSHO, the Genesis version of Shadowrun was much better than the SNES version. It feels more RPG-y, and the SNES version screws around with the rules.

    It’d be fun to do a pure cyberpunk game. I don’t think Glow, etc, are anything close to cyberpunk because so many of the elements (true AI, orbital corporate courts, etc) are virtually impossible in its timeline.

  4. Stephen August 5, 2007 at 7:24 am

    @TVM: Thanks! 🙂

    @Prinz Eugn: Me and Dean have watched Bladerunner before, yes. The movie doesn’t make too much sense, but Dean assures me that the book is even more awesome.

    @Ravuya: I don’t intend to follow the ‘true’ cyberpunk genre too closely either. Although it’s a very interesting world to be set in, I’m really interested in blazing me own trail — the cyberpunk genre being more of a ‘launch pad’ for the game to sit upon.

Leave a Reply

