Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Of articles and online games.

Article almost done!

That’s right. The written portion is nearly done, I just need to write up the parts about making other Meta-Shapes (covering donuts, ellipses, and squares), list/explain a few optimizations that can be done, and then write up the demos/examples that come with the article. This will be the long part. I really want to additionally include a “Meta-Playground” *snicker* that lets the reader toy with a bunch of different types of shapes and optimizations to get a feel of what all of the theory discussed looks like in an actual program. This might take longer than I originally thought, but I’m going to just keep hammering away at it, one day at a time. 🙂

Project Skirmish

With the article looming closer to completion and “Out-Of-My-Hair Status”, I’m getting warmed up for jumping head-first into Project Skirmish once again. After coming back to the code after so long — even if it’s only a couple of weeks — I find myself noticing lots of areas that could stand some refactoring, which only further proves that taking some time to step back from your code is always a healthy thing to do.

As I said in my interview a while back, taking a break from a project that starting to bore/frustrate/annoy you is a really wise thing to do. Trying to force it when it’s just not a good time is a sure-fire way to destroy the project altogether. For a while I was getting the jitters of “maybe I should can the project”, but a nice long walk (and lots of midterm studying!) did wonders. Things should get back into full swing after the article and my midterms are finished up. Exciting times ahead. 🙂

One response to “Of articles and online games.

  1. zyklon October 21, 2007 at 11:12 am

    I have to say, 2 in in 2 days, wow! I can’t even do 2 in one week.

Leave a Reply

