Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Jobs jobs jobs.

Jobs & Co-Op

Now that I’ve finally finished all six of my interviews, we get to see tomorrow if I get any job offers, and from whom. I had interviews from Sony Creative Software, Harris Corporation, Research In Motion, GEOREF Systems, and two at the University itself.

Sony and Harris Corp. were both graphics-based developer positions, so I’m vying for them the most. I think I’m in for a killer Winter term in any case. Expect a nice “woohoo job!” post within the next 24 hours. šŸ™‚

Metaballs Article

Oh yes, I’m still working on this. I really wanted to be done this a long time ago, but it just seems to keep on dragging on. I clearly underestimated the size of this undertaking, and need to make efforts to be less overambitious in future articles. I’m going to try and cull off what I can of this one, but I want to accomplish most of what I set out to do.

I’m still trying to get a really nice optimization technique going so I can crank out some really nice speeds with Metaballs, but it’s rough-going. I am making nice progress, though:

Ā  meta5.PNGmeta6.PNG

I’ve already simplified out the square-rooting going on, and my current method is to do extra sampling in a spatial partitioned grid in order to escape a lot of unneeded overdraw in the unused parts of the screen. Still, ~40 FPS on a 3.0GHZ just isn’t acceptable for real-world game. Hopefully this won’t take too long!

4 responses to “Jobs jobs jobs.

  1. Drilian October 26, 2007 at 12:42 am

    Those metaball shots look cool. šŸ˜€

  2. Stephen October 26, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Thanks! Hopefully I will be able to make them cool *faster*. šŸ˜‰

  3. Kristian July 1, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Found this through google, it’s been a lot of years since i first implemented metaballs in both 2d and 3d. I really like the screenshots, really good use of metaballs.

    But what are you doing to get such low speeds?

    Marching squares would be much much faster than what you are getting, but would not look exactly the same. Using a lookup table would also get speeds way above 40 FPS, even without undersampling. It can even be done on a GPU with shaders today.

  4. Stephen July 1, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Kristian. šŸ™‚

    My original approach focused on simplicity and rendering using the more ‘pure’ pixel-oriented approach. I’d be very interested on reading up on some of the other methods you mentioned — do you have your metaballs demos online anywhere for download?

Leave a Reply

