Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Voxel Renderer: Final Version

It was a fun adventure, but I’m going to draw my little tangent-of-a-project to a close. I learned a lot while writing this voxel renderer, but I don’t really think that it has too too much potential as an engine for a full-blown game. Irregardless, I present you with one last screenshot, and a download link:

vg_img3.PNG

Download Voxel Engine (Windows)

Download Voxel Engine (Linux)

The Linux version was built on the latest version of Ubuntu, and with my limited Linux experience I’m not entirely sure if it will nicely run under other distributions without modifications. Fingers crossed. 🙂

Controls are the mouse for looking left/right/up/down, the up/down arrow keys for forwards and backwards, and the “a” key will spawn a sprite object at the location the mouse is pointing at. L, M, and H will change the quality betwen Low, Medium and High, respectively. Fun for the whole family!

11 responses to “Voxel Renderer: Final Version

  1. Dave "Trapper Zoid" November 30, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    At least now though you’ve got a better understanding of what voxels are capable of, so you’ll know when you have a new game idea whether it’s the right solution.

  2. David McGraw November 30, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Well this is pretty darn cool, I must admit.

    Great job! 🙂

  3. Stephen December 1, 2007 at 11:06 am

    @TZ: To be fair, the original idea was just to learn more about 3D graphics, which I certainly can say I have. I’m not too irked that I ended up not making it into a game, since I got a good learning experience out of it.

  4. MLeo December 1, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Works very well on my old computer, an AMD Atlhon 2600+ at 1.9GHz.

    I just got the odd “spike” in the corners of the terrain at certain view angles.

  5. Stephen December 1, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    @MLeo: I was seeing those black bars as well, occasionally. If I ever make another revised version I’ll be sure to fix that. Thanks for trying it out!

  6. LOL December 6, 2007 at 1:21 am

    The Voxlap Community needs you, Stephen! 😀

    http://www.jonof.id.au/forum/index.php?topic=1399.0

    Appreciate it 😉

  7. Stephen December 6, 2007 at 9:57 am

    @LOL: I deleted your other two comments, which seemed to get progressively less positive. (The one with the profanity really did the trick.)

    Anyways, the reason why I’m not using Voxlap is because this was a learning experience, not a “make the best voxel engine ever” project. I wouldn’t learn too much by using a pre-made engine that has had the heck optimized out of it. 😉

  8. LeGreg March 8, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Hey I recognize this image !

    Nice to see that that old tutorial helped somebody 😉

    Also, can you credit the original texture/heightmap as well as the code if you reused any part of it. I didn’t devise a compicated license for redistribution because, well it’s only a small educational project, but attribution is nice.

    The tutorial has moved over there :
    http://www.codermind.com/articles/Voxel-terrain-engine-building-the-terrain.html

    Thanks

  9. Stephen March 8, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    @LeGreg: I mentioned in my earlier development post that I borrowed the resources from your site, but I have no qualms with adding a README that gives credit to you. I didn’t make use of any of your code or rendering algorithm, though.

    By the way, what software did you use for generating the heightmap and detailmap?

    Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

  10. LeGreg March 9, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Hey you didn’t read the articles either because it’s explained there 😉

    I used the free versions of worldmachine and terragen. You can get more details by following the links in my article.

  11. Stephen March 10, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    D’oh, my err. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

