Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Super Duper Laser Cannon

I received the image files from DogPriest for the HUD, which certainly add a greater amount of justice to it than my previous long-lived art has. You can see what the weapon slots, chatbox, and mini-map windows look like with it in the screenshots below.

Also implemented is the particle engine, at long last. I’ve always had a lot of fun with particle engines — arguably too much fun. The majority of my games have made good use of particle effects, most notably Membrane Massacre, where 99% of the visual effects were generated by the particle engine. Given this, it’s not a big surprise that I decided it was time to have a little bit of fun. 🙂

pskirm_15.PNG

(A fun laser cannon weapon!)

pskirm_14.PNG

(Ah, I got a little carried away. Super Duper Laser Cannon?)

I want to add several more ‘fun’ content items, like ammo clips that can be picked up and used, the explosion system (which will apply forces to all nearby props and generate shrapnel), destroying props (like breaking those darned crates), weapon recoil, and likely a rocket launcher. I wish that the development was always about the fun stuff. 😉

(EDIT: Oh, guh, and the health/ability bars were also added to the HUD, for anyone who didn’t notice. :P)

11 responses to “Super Duper Laser Cannon

  1. The Visible Man December 9, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Wow! Those are some awesome looking lasers! How fast do they go? The second picture looks almost like a laser tornado, because of the angle they come off of your character. That would be awesome for a grenade like weapon, but would need some major drawbacks to not be overpowered.

    HUD is also looking great.

    Keep up the amazing work, and Happy holidays! (They’ll be here before you know it!)

  2. David McGraw December 9, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Holy crap that laser is sick… Keep me away from that one.

  3. Jonathan Chung December 10, 2007 at 1:41 am

    Is that an actual weapon you can use or a secret one that only Steve can use? 🙂

    Great to see you working on this again.

  4. Jussi Lepistö December 10, 2007 at 4:32 am

    Ooh, particles. I luvs them particles!

    A comment on the GUI: I think it’s too intrusive for an action game. I would either tone it down a bit, make all of the backgrounds transparent, or both. Just my $.2

    And to Jonathan: if(name == “Steve”) GiveSuperDuperLaser();

  5. Stephen December 10, 2007 at 8:26 am

    @Jon/TVM: It’s just a joke weapon. In fact, the weapon doesn’t even really exist. All I did was freeze the particle engine updates and fired several regular ‘laser cannon’ shots in a circle. 🙂 But I agree that it might make an interesting grenade weapon for CYB.

    @Jussi: Do you think that the old HUD art I was using is less intrusive? I agree that the borders are a tad bright, but I’d rather not alpha-blend-ify everything either. I’ll see what I can do to tone the brightness down a smidgen.

  6. Draff December 10, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Hey I never said that! And since when are CJ and Alex there again! I smell a lawsuit. Looking great man. Call my cell when your home for the ho ho holidays.

  7. Drilian December 10, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Super-duper laser cannon?

    I’m in.

  8. zyklon December 10, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Hey steve,

    We are having a contest at ongamedev.com. You are invited. We have flled up the judging positions, but you can compete ;).

    Also, looks very nice. I am the super-duper laser cannon! I cant wait to test it!

  9. Jonathan Chung December 11, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Are you considering making the GUI translucent, so that those spots don’t turn into blind spots? It may also help tone down the saturation and brightness that makes it “distracting.”

  10. Stephen December 11, 2007 at 10:20 am

    @Zyklon: I’m going to have to pass, but thanks for the offer.

    @Jon: No final decision on whether the other components will be transparent. More than likely it will be a user configurable option. As for the HUD brightness, it’s on the to-do list.

  11. brian (ripoff) December 11, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Looking good. Nothing like ridiculous screen shots to get the comment juices flowing!

Leave a Reply

