Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Metaballs Article: Feedback Request

For those of you who remember the gamedev article I was previously working on, you’ll be happy to know that the near-final draft is completed. Between studying for finals today seemed like a good day to get the article finished and (almost) out the door.

To anyone interested in the topic of metaballs and/or isosurfaces, or the topic of game development in general, I’d be very interested in receiving any feedback or comments on my article. This is the first time I’ve really sat down and wrote one, so there has to be plenty for me to improve upon.

The draft is in PDF format, which means that the links will not be clickable (doh). Most of the content is in the article itself though. This will be fixed in the final version. Also downloadable is the “Meta Playground”, where you can toy around with five different meta-shapes. If you have trouble running it, you might try downloading the Visual C++ Redistributable files from MSDN.

Without further ado:

Read Exploring Metaballs and Isosurfaces (PDF)

Download Meta Playground (Win32)

metafun.JPG

Once again, criticism and feedback are appreciated. 🙂

5 responses to “Metaballs Article: Feedback Request

  1. Jonathan Chung December 18, 2007 at 12:19 am

    I skimmed it and I actually think that this is mostly a good, if technical first article.

    The part that I’d say needs work is actually the introduction (‘posing the question’) This is the page where you capture the reader’s attention and come off as sounding very enthusiastic about the subject matter, but I didn’t see that come through. If anything, the intro section sounds like what I’m doing for my final project paper for graphics – it’s a matter of who your audience is, and I think that you’d do yourself more justice by perking that part up and adopting a more informal/personal tone like you do in your blog posts, forum posts and e-mails.

    Besides that and a few nagging details in the formatting, I’d say it looks good. It really picks up nicely towards the end.

  2. brian (ripoff) December 18, 2007 at 8:51 am

    On page 8 adobe slapped me with an error ‘an unrecognised token ‘)’ was found. After hitting ‘OK’, the page appears blank. Same happens on IE on a different computer.

    Other than that, it looks very good. I think I may even have understood enough of it to make my own implementation. They look pretty cool, might give me ideas for effects in a 2D game sometime.

    Nice work.

  3. ravuya December 18, 2007 at 11:27 am

    I thought for a second there it was going to be an Asteroids clone.

  4. Jonathan Chung December 18, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Yeah, I forgot to say that I also get the token error too.

  5. Stephen December 19, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Thanks for the comments. I’ll see what I can do about sprucing up the intro a bit, and it goes without saying that the PDF error will be cleared up.

Leave a Reply

