Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Adventures at Sony.

First Week of Co-Op

For those of you just tuning in, I just started my second co-op term last week, where I’m working at Sony Creative Software in their office in Waterloo. We’re really just the ‘satellite’ of the real SCS, which is located in the US, in Madison. Our office is staffed by a small ~10 people, so it’s pretty cozy. πŸ™‚

First and foremost, I’ll say that it’s a real thrill to be working on “real” code. I know that some internships like to toss play-code at students to fill time, but I’m working on a significantly large product which will be competing with another certain well-known product. It’s going to be supremely cool to play with the final product once it’s released and see folks tinker with a couple of the additions I’m implementing.

The codebase I’m working on is well over 50 megabytes of source, which might explain why I spend a lot of time every day just compiling. πŸ˜‰Β  Generally it’s only a couple of minutes if I’m doing a quick make, but clean-builds tend to take a little over 20 minutes on my dual-core 3.4ghz processors. Gah!

All of the workstations are equipped with dual widescreen monitors, which I’ve become hopelessly addicted to. Coming home to this lone, flat box is a little depressing. I also have some very nice speakers and a killer subwoofer on my system. I need to get one of these setups at home.

There’s no shortage of recreational possibilities at the office, either. I still can’t believe we get any work done, heh. A ping-pong table, a Playstation 3, a Foosball table, and a decent DVD collection make it hard to focus on work all of the time. πŸ™‚

That was a very hastened hodge-podge description of the job, but it’s overall a pretty nice place to work. In short: pure adrenaline. Software developers lead the high life. πŸ˜‰

Game Development!?

It’s been more than a little quiet on that front, hasn’t it? As I learned during my previous work term, it’s notoriously hard to code all day and then come home and try and code some more. Thus, a lot of my development will be somewhat constrained to the weekend.

My motivation for Skirmish has felt a little on the low-side as of late — which I think is understandable given my disposition towards map editors — so another tangent-of-a-project might be in order. More on that as it develops. πŸ™‚

7 responses to “Adventures at Sony.

  1. The Visible Man January 15, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Oh wow, sounds like you really lucked out! I know you can’t tell us about what you’re working on, but I’m sure it’ll turn out awesome. Can you tell us what it is when the product is released so we can go buy it? πŸ˜›

    Although I’m saddened to hear you’ll be taking a break from Skirmish right before finishing the map editor, I can’t blame you. Even programmers have their limits 😦

    Also, your compiling reminds me of this comic:
    http://xkcd.com/303/

  2. ripoff January 15, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Your work sounds fascinating!

    Looking forward to your next gamedev work, skirmish oriented or otherwise…

  3. Stephen January 15, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    @TVM: Thanks for the link. It might end up finding a home on the wall of my “office”, which may or may not be a cubicle. πŸ™‚

  4. LachlanL January 15, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Wow, super congrats on yer internship! That sounds like an utter dream!

    I can totally relate with the coding at work –> home business. You’ll probably find that it goes in phases. Sometimes you’ll get tonnes of inspiration, then you’ll run dry for a bit. The dry is probably just your mind telling you “enough”, so it’s probably better to listen & enjoy the rest, rather than get discouraged and give it up altogether.

    That’s my $0.02 anyway.

  5. David McGraw January 16, 2008 at 1:00 am

    LOL @ the comic!

    Wow, 20 minutes to do a clean build… Wow.

    It’s exciting to hear that you are enjoying your co-op! Don’t have too much fun! ;p

  6. Jonathan Chung January 16, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Are you using Incredibuild to speed up builds of your project or something like that? It reallllly speeds up building, but of course, you need to have enough fast machines to do the job of course (10+).

  7. Stephen January 16, 2008 at 8:08 am

    @Jon: We use parallel-cmd to speed up some compiling, on our base classes that don’t have many/any dependencies, which spreads the work across the machine’s two (or three) cores. But no, not enough resources at the office to do that sort of thing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

