Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

“Don’t like the gum? Try the Patch!”

Project Skirmish

Development is once again up and humming. Although I’ve jumped around between projects a lot over the last months in a sort of tangential manner, I’m finding it easier and more natural to slide back into Skirmish. I’ve been working on this iteration of Skirmish for about 6 months now, and it’s become a much larger part of my routine than I had realized. Coming home from a long day of work and nestling into some Skirmish code feels much more pleasant than I thought it would be

Today’s area of development in Skirmish’s map editor: patches. Patches are those neat little polygons on the ground that can represent things like dirt paths, patches of greener grass (like that one pesky neighbour!), sand pits, or other effects. Patches are the last ‘mode’ of the editor that I will be implementing — Lights can wait until another version — which means the editor, Battleforge, is getting closer to being completed.

bf_img7.PNG      bf_img8.PNG

You can see two patches being used above to make a fairly subtle effect of three ground textures blending in nicely. In the other shot you can see the patch being built — the fade-distance selection in particular — which must be a convex polygon to ensure proper drawing. Overall, I think it’s especially nice because it really breaks the monotony and sharp edges that tile-based games tend to create for the eyes. It’s also a very abstract item, so it will be interesting to see what tricks future mappers will exploit patches for.

I’m a little unsure about my original goal of finishing the editor for the end of the month, but we’ll see what kind of progress this weekend brings. Frankly I can’t wait to get the Alpha out the door to a handful of folks and get some feedback, so I’m going to really try and focus on functionality over glitz on my first pass of the editor’s development.

Until next time!

9 responses to ““Don’t like the gum? Try the Patch!”

  1. Aaghaaz January 24, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I appreciate what you’re doing. I will test it when you release the alpha.

  2. Draff January 25, 2008 at 6:11 am

    That is so cool! No more transitional tiles! 😛

  3. The Visible Man January 26, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Ooooh, I can’t wait to see how it turns out! I’ll have to start sketching out some map ideas 😀

    Glad you’re back to working on Skirmish!

  4. The Visible Man January 27, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Oh, and I almost forgot (or did, I guess):

    Nice choice of menu icons! Much clearer now.

    Also, that blend looks amazing. I can’t wait to see what landscapes people put together. Even grass fields will look awesome!

  5. Aaghaaz January 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Will Skirmish be available for Linux?

  6. Stephen January 27, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    @Aaghaaz: Yes. The three platforms will be Windows, Mac, and Linux.

  7. LachlanL January 29, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Lookin’ really good!

    Something that would be really cool is if you could also define the polygon for the fade-outline. That way, you can have fading of variable distance and shape. You could just draw quads between each edge of the patch, and the corresponding edge of the outline.

  8. billay February 5, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    dude im wondering how come only u guys can play the game but i cant download it anywere?

  9. Stephen February 5, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    @billay: Nobody is playing it just yet. I’m currently working on it in closed development, and don’t plan on making it publicly playable until it’s further along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

