Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Adventures in 3D modeling.

For a good long time the daunting task of learning how to model in 3D has been on my to-do list. I’m certainly a great distance from claiming proficiency in the subject, but I’m glad to say that I’ve finally started on the dusty path towards such a goal.

Dean has been working very hard on more sprites/actors for Cyberspawn, and I figured I would take the opportunity to try and model some simple props and weapons for the game as well. Not to mention the refreshing break of just taking some time off of programming to pursue something a little more artistic. Coding all day at work and then coding all evening tends to suck a bit of the creative juices out of you. πŸ˜‰

In terms of weapon-of-choice, I opted for Blender, the juggernaut of free modeling software. Blender has a bit of a reputation for having an unwieldy interface — which I think I can somewhat attest to — but overall it’s been quite a learning experience. And surprisingly, fun. I could see myself doing this even just as a hobby.

With a sizable helping of dedication and motivation in-hand, I set forth to attempt to create a simple handgun for Cyberspawn. Just some little pea-shooter for gunning some baddies down with.

gunshot.PNG

It ended up looking and feeling heavier than a pea-shooter, so this model might end up being the infamous “Hardpistol”, a nonsensical term for a heavy handgun that I coined in Skirmish Online.

The modeling wasn’t particularly hard, but then again, it’s not a very complicated model. I plan on tackling texturing (UV unwrapping?) soon, which I’ve heard mostly horror stories about. Should be interesting. πŸ˜‰

All in all, the model looks ‘alright’ in-game. It took a bit of trial and error to get the perspective/angle correct with the camera such that the gun appears properly on-screen, and my only real regret is that the weapon looks a little too thick and short in the particular render that I took.

cs_img11.PNG

The advent of weapons means several subsystems must come in the near future: particles, weapon animations (groan!), decals (for bullet holes), and some sort of inventory system. Hoy!

One response to “Adventures in 3D modeling.

  1. brian.ripoff February 12, 2008 at 8:51 am

    I like the juxtaposition of the 2.5D characters and 3D gun. Looking forward to seeing the textures!

Leave a Reply

