Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Skirmish’in.

It’s been a good long while since my last entry regarding Project Skirmish, but lately I’ve been getting some solid motivation, which I haven’t been letting go to waste.

More specifically, it’s about continuing to push the map editor, Battleforge, forward. Writing map editors is a labourous task — at least for me — so I try and convince myself that it’s sluggish speed of development is understandable. Hopefully that is the case, and productivity leaps into full swing once it’s completed. More than likely, though, it’s just working full-time writing code at Sony that’s draining the heck out of me. Still, I plan on pushing forward Skirmish’s development.

More GUI Fun

In particular, dialogs and edit-boxes. With all four of the editting modes finally implemented (tiles, props, decals, and patches) it’s just a matter of creating a map-settings dialog and then adding saving/loading before calling it a finished Alpha version. The idea behind a Dialog is that it blocks out input from the underlying level (ie. the map editor’s interface), unlike the sidebar and bottombar Windows, which work alongside the regular input for the editor.

bf_img9.PNG

I won’t drone on about the various GUI components, rather I’ll leave that to someone more qualified to do so. I’m really opting (mostly) for a get-the-darned-thing working methodology, but I am paying attention to the design enough to keep me from shooting myself in the foot. And trying to make it look sufficiently pretty. 🙂

The important thing is that the editor is just about fully functional, and I’ll soon be able to start on the beef and potatoes of the whole project: the networking engine. I’ve had a ton of interesting ideas swirling around lately about the very topic, so it will be exciting to finally tackle it in the (hopefully) near future. Naturally, having networking necesitates having testers to insure that the darned thing works. I don’t see much of my original testing crew online any more, so this may prove to be a challenging process. Stay tuned!

10 responses to “Skirmish’in.

  1. brian.ripoff February 16, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Excellent progress! That GUI looks pretty nice.

  2. Stephen February 16, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Thanks, Brian! I’m looking forward to seeing some updates on your journal, as well. 😉

  3. The Visible Man February 17, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Testers, you say? I’ll definitely be online now 😀

    Also, any chance of pre-releasing the map editor, so we can make some fun maps to.. uh… help you test on? 🙂

  4. Stephen February 17, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    @TVM: I will be releasing the Alpha version of Battleforge to everyone once it’s in a fully working state. I certainly have no reasons to keep it from the public, since accumulating feedback is paramount to me. 🙂

  5. Aaghaaz February 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    You work for Sony?That’s cool. What programming language are you writing Skirmish in? And do you know of any good tutorial for making sprites from scratch? I’ve been looking via google and I’ve found nothing.

  6. Stephen February 17, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    @Aaghaaz: Skirmish has been through revisions in multiple languages (Delphi, C++, etc), but this current — and hopefully final — iteration is being written using Java 5.0.

  7. Aaghaaz February 17, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    @Stephen: Does that mean that JRE 5.0 instead of 6.0?

  8. Aaghaaz February 17, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Woops, I forgot the words “I have to use”.

  9. Stephen February 17, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    No, the JREs are backwards compatible. That means 6.0 of the JRE will allow you to run a Java app written for any of the older versions.

  10. Aaghaaz February 18, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Oh okay, I had that problem when installing Freemind. I wonder why.

Leave a Reply

