Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Skirmish gets its first taste of online…

…And it was good!

During the weekend, Skirmish saw a storm of coding. I hammered away at the game networking system as quickly as I dared, tasting that glimmer of online play that laid only over the horizon. Or more simply put: just really darn close to being playable online.

Below are a couple of screenshots to summarize the end-result of this work:

realfirst.png realfirst1.png

(Huge thanks go out to Dean and Brian for helping pioneer online play.)

The bottom line: Skirmish is finally ‘playable’ online! It’s only the bare bare basics of the game networking, but after all of these months of work, it’s finally all starting to come together. 🙂

What you can do: Host games. Join existing games. Move around and see other players join/exit. Send/receive public chat messages.

What is not (yet) implemented: Synchronization of props and player actions across the network (encompasses static props, items (guns, etc), and firing of weapons). Player health and death. Movement prediction. And heaps more. 🙂

The important thing is that Skirmish is now at a turning point. No longer is it “that game I’ve been keeping to myself on my local machine”, but “that nifty new online game that folks can actually sort-of play”! I’m hoping that in having even just this much available for public consumption will help: a) get bugs reported quickly, and b) bring more public interest to the game, now that I’ve established some more credibility to the name of the game.

Calling Testers

Naturally, the development of an online game tends to require multiple users in order for many facets of the game to be adequately tested. I still follow my tendency to randomly yank folks off of MSN when I spontaneously require some testing, so if you’d like to take part in this early stage of alpha testing, please (please!) add me to your MSN (hopedagger at gmail dotcom) and let me know you’re along for the ride. Tests will usually be fairly short in duration, and, of course, testers will be credited for their invaluable help.

Lastly, I’d like to once again extend a massive thanks out to everyone who has been a supporter of Skirmish. (Yes, I tend to get a little misty-eyed every time Skirmish gets to this stage. 🙂 )

3 responses to “Skirmish gets its first taste of online…

  1. Dean May 28, 2008 at 9:09 am

    There is a difference this time though. 😀 This ones here to stay!

  2. Knarkles May 29, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Added! Looking forward to testing it, and also looking forward to getting back on track myself now that my studies are finished for the Spring. 🙂

  3. brian (ripoff) May 31, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    That game was fun. I know the frustration that can come from trying to make network games synch reliably (and I never even got as far as a public test!). Nice to see it working.

Leave a Reply

