Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Next Co-Op Position (and Player Actions)

Working on the “Inside”

As some of you may know, at my university we alternate every 4 months between studies and co-op. Near the beginning of each term of studies, we apply to and have interviews with employers via an online job application system at our uni called JobMine.

Anyways, I’ve been through seven interviews over the last month with various companies, and today was the point where I got to see which companies extended offers of employment to me, and was to make my choice of which offer to accept. Most were software development companies, but I instead decided to take a fairly off-the-wall job compared to what some might expect: tutoring at the university.

I will be tutoring a second-year Computer Science course (which happens to be my favourite CS course that I’ve taken so far (involving assembly, parsing, and basic compiler creation)), which will involve giving weekly tutorials, marking assignments, creating model solutions, proctoring/marking midterms and exams, and holding office hours (and likely some other miscellaneous administrivia). In terms of work-load, it’s pretty light (35 hours/week, and very close to home), so I’m planning to take a course at the university itself during the term, and perhaps even freeing up more time for Skirmish. 🙂

Skirmish: Player Actions

I’m feeling comfortable with where the prop simulation work I’ve been doing is, such that it’s now at the point where props can be seamlessly created, flung about, moved in/out of players, and destroyed, all over the network without any noticeable glitches. Now comes the implementation of allowing players to interact with this system of prop simulation: via player actions.

The atomic actions that a player will be able to execute are both few and simple: start/end use, start/end throw, reload, interact. “Use” means to perform the primary use of the currently-held item, which may be firing a projectile, healing a teammate, or detonating a bomb. Throwing and reloading should be straight-forward. Interact is the action of attempting to ‘use’ a prop that is on the map near the player. Interacting with an item results in picking it up, interacting with a switch might cause a door to open/close, interacting with a vehicle might cause the player to enter/exit it, etcetera.

After the completion of player actions (and a healthy amount of testing), the fundamentals to actually having a somewhat playable ‘game’ will be in place. Players will be able to interact with the environment and fire weapons at other players. Player death and respawning will come soon after, and Skirmish will be roughly at the same stage it was at in its previous iteration, albeit far more stable and scalable. Exciting times ahead. 🙂

3 responses to “Next Co-Op Position (and Player Actions)

  1. Dean June 24, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I can’t wait! Soon I’ll be back at school to test again! This mexican internet isn’t so quick.

  2. ravuya June 24, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I’d be really interested to see how you do 2D vehicle physics. I’ve always had such a problem with making them turn realistically.

  3. Stephen June 24, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    @Ravuya: I’m not even sure if I will have vehicles — it’s sort of a “at one point down the road” feature idea. I’ve taken a decent physics course at my uni that covered a lot of rigid body dynamics related material, so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to swing it when the time comes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

