Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

A year of toil…

Happy Anniversary Skirmish!

Whew, it’s hard to believe it’s been (a little over!) a year since I started this wild ride of Skirmish. Why, I can still remember how crude my early engine work looked. Actually, it looks frighteningly similar to what I have now. 🙂

While the ‘dream’ of Skirmish started many years ago, the work that has led up to what I have today began during lengthy train commutes to-and-from my first co-op position downtown. It started as an engine over OpenGL, gradually became a ‘tech demo’ of sorts, grew to have a map editor, then a master server, then networking of its own, and heck, by now it’s just about at the point where it could be called a ‘game’!

Although any reader can go back and see my several tangent project attempts through the year, none of them were able to draw me far away enough from Skirmish for long. I’m incredibly proud that I’ve manage to stand the test of time on this project, and genuinely feel that now that I’ve survived this, nothing can stop me from taking Skirmish all the way to prime-time. 🙂

Ahem. Progress?

Ah, yes. I haven’t updated for a little while, but it’s not from lack of getting work done. The vast majority has simply been in the category of miscellaneousness. Bug fixes, GUI/HUD tweaks, minor additions, code refactoring, and all of the other things that nobody likes to hear developers talk about. It’s not the glamourous side of game development, but it’s definitely a necessary one.

That said, fun is waiting just around the corner. The ‘major’ feature that I’ve been working on between bug fixes is reloading, which is more or less done. With just about all of the small-scale work done, I’m finally free to slide into the bread and butter of this milestone: health, death, and respawning. At last! Skirmish is almost a real game! 🙂

Just a little more code…

3 responses to “A year of toil…

  1. David McGraw July 17, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Have you fallen into twitter land yet?

    I definitely commend your ability to stick with the project for this long. It’s certainly not easy. Keep it up & Get r. Dun!

  2. ravuya July 18, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Yeah, twitter will steal your soul.

  3. Stephen July 18, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Twitter never caught my fancy. I think I’d rather stick to macro-blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

