Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

Rise of the GP2X; Fall of Skirmish; Legacy

GP2X Arrives!

Several days ago a little bundle of joy arrived on my doorstep. No, not a baby, my precious little GP2X. It’s every bit as groovy as I had hoped, and after acquiring a 2GB SD card I’ve already installed a ton of software. The community has already matured enough to have produced many emulators, so I’m playing Genesis, SNES, NES, and GameBoy games on this thing like nobody’s business. Not to mention ports of other excellent PC games, such as Duke3D, Quake, Cave Story, and CDogs.

I’m not sure if I’ll be getting into the homebrew gamedev scene for this device, but for now I’m more than satisfied with just being a gamer. 🙂

Fall of Skirmish

No, Skirmish isn’t dieing, I’m just making a pun. I’m still really busy with studying for exams, and simply just haven’t been in the Skirmish mood lately. I’m slowly working on a side project at the moment, for the month of August or so. I want to pick Skirmish development back up in September, thus making it the “Fall of Skirmish”. Ho ho ho, get it? Sorry.

Legacy

The code-name of my side project for August. I don’t think it will be finished within the confines of a mere month, but I just felt that I needed a change for a little while after a year of working on Skirmish. I’m not sure exactly where it will go, but I’m satisfied just with working on it for now.

The viewstyle, as you can see, is a sort of 3D-rotatable-isometric type. I’m not sure what other game it’s comparable to, so for now it feels sort of unique.

The original plan was to use voxels for the map components and draw them in real-time, which fell through as I became less interested in writing tricky rendering optimizations and more interested in actually making a game. So I’m currently working on moving it over to use OpenGL and 3d models for rendering, after which things should be a lot easier to work with. This is particularly interesting, since I’ve been looking for a chance to play with 3D programming in OpenGL and 3D modelling for a long time.

We’ll see where things go, but I’m leaning towards a sort of fantasy hack ‘n slash adventure, which the existing tiles might suggest. 🙂

2 responses to “Rise of the GP2X; Fall of Skirmish; Legacy

  1. The Visible Man August 4, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Phew, you almost gave me a heart attack with that title!

    Glad you’re enjoying your investment, it’s always fun to sit in the back seat for a while and just enjoy finished games. Although, I can never help but think about how they implemented every system. (Still trying to decide if MissingNO. was a glitch or a cheat, the context is just so strange!)

    Legacy sounds interesting, and I’m curious how you’ll design an RPG (I never played your first one, unfortunately). Are you thinking Dungeon Crawler? Or something else?

    Well, good luck with your exams!

  2. hopedagger August 5, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Thanks, TVM!

    Yes, I’m thinking about something along the lines of a dungeon crawler for Legacy. I really haven’t ironed out any real details. I’m mostly concerned with getting all of the basics up and working properly. (eg. model loading, map display, simple animations, etc) 🙂

Leave a Reply

