Gauntlets of Recursion (+3)

Times, trials, and turbulence.

An update.

Of Life

Whew, it’s been a while.

Exams are long since finished — which went well, to all parties who are curious — and I’ve been ‘vacationing’ back home until the end of the month. It’s nice to see the family, but I’m eager to get back to uni and get rolling on my co-op position this fall.

Of GameDev

I’ve been project-hopping pretty badly for the last few weeks, which means that lovely screenshot of that dungeon crawler in my last entry is probably the last that will be seen of it. I need to cut the ambition down a few notches.

I’ve been toying with the idea of a small not-too-ambitious little Wolf3D-like game, which I think grades nice and low on the ambition-o-meter. According to my “research”, this might fare well:

The Ambition-o-Meter

The Ambition-o-Meter

I figure if I embark on a project that’s pretty darn simple, motivation should be a plentiful commodity, since there’s less tricky stuff (like networking :P) to get caught up on. Membrane Massacre began much the same, and it resulted in a completed game. We’ll see where this one takes me.

Humble beginnings.

Humble beginnings.

2 responses to “An update.

  1. The Visible Man August 25, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Glad to hear your exams went well and you’ve been enjoying your vacation πŸ™‚

    As far as ambition and motivation go, I agree with you on most of it. You’ve got to keep your scope as small as possible, so you can “see the light at the end of the tunnel,” as it were. However, don’t aim to keep your games just simple. It’s fine to maneuver your game’s design around annoying systems like networking (I haven’t met anyone yet who enjoys it), but try to keep some challenging systems in the game, ones that will keep you on your toes and invested. Can’t have you getting rusty πŸ˜‰

    It’s funny you mention Wolfenstein, as I’ve been playing a counter-strike version of it πŸ˜›

    Looking forward to seeing what you do with the idea. Will this be a continuation of the game we saw a while back, with the first-person perspective?

  2. hopedagger August 26, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Thanks for writing, TVM. I still maintain that even small/simple games have merit, both as a tool for building yourself back up for bigger game projects, and as a nice diversion from large stressful projects. They are also often a good opportunity to test out new or experimental game ideas.

Leave a Reply

